Capstone Awards

Award Image

The Capstone Awards encourage and recognize excellence in the Maintenance Management Professional (MMP) program final project, the Capstone.

Capstone (MMP Module 8) instructors nominate for this award from amoung the participants in the courses that they instructed over the course of the year. There are two categories for the Capstone award:

  • Best Capstone project: Technical focus
  • Best Capstone project: Business Process focus

Members of the successful teams are invited to MainTrain to present their project.


2017 Capstone Award Technical Focus

Operator Driven Reliability (ODR), An Effective Approach to Autonomous Maintenance

Rigoberto Sanchez

Maintenance Manager
TC Transcontinental

2017 Capstone Award Business Process Focus

Proposal to Increase Uptime at Gerdau's Whitby Melt Shop

Stan Dymecki

2016 Capstone Award Technical Focus

Sight Glass Failure Retrofit Project Plan

Stephen Sulis

Reliabliliy Engineer
Cenovus Energy Inc

Darcy Barry

Sr. Asset Data Technologist
Cenovus Energy Inc

Stephen Norris

Maintenance & Reliability Tech
Cenovus Energy Inc

2016 Capstone Award Business Process Focus

Capital Asset Upgrade Compressed Air System

Kirin Hoyano

Golder Associates Ltd.

Kip Morris-Mickelson


Randy Beairsto

Manager, Maintenance and Custodial Services
Union Gospel Mission

Dan Pellichero

Service Technician
Busch Vacuum Technics

2015 Capstone Award Technical Focus

Stillhouse 2 - Care of Critical Assets

Darren Mangin

Maintenance Manager
Chapman's Ice Cream

2015 Capstone Award Business Process Focus

Proactive Process Development

James Gunn

Director of Maintenance and Engineering
Irving Pulp and Paper Limited

2014 Capstone Award Technical Focus

Churchill Falls Generating Station Drainage Sump Upgrade

Jim Shears

Manager W.E. Generation
Nalcor Energy - Churchill Falls

Andrew Leslie

Power Systems Operator Supervisor
Nalcor Energy - Churchill Falls

Chad Wiseman

Manager, Production
Nalcor Energy - Churchill Falls

Bernard Jacobs

Manager, Long Term Planning, Facilities
Nalcor Energy - Churchill Falls

Rodney Kendall

Nalcor Energy - Churchill Falls

2014 Capstone Award Business Process Focus

Implementing an Asset Management Strategy for a New Mine

Steven Dew

Sr. Maintenance Engineer

David MacPherson

Director - Mechanical
Co-op Refinery Complex

Greg Vaadeland

Sr. Maintenance Engineer
Cameco - SK Operations Centre

2013 Capstone Award Technical Focus

Maintenance Strategy & Program - New Shaft and Headframe for a Deep Ore Base Metals Site

Larry Roy

Maintenance Superintendent of Smelter

Murray Keough

Maintenance Superintendent
Vale Limited

David Hennessey

Maintenance Planner
Shell Canada

Raymond Majerus

Vale Inco

Daniel Cox

Reliability Facilitator

2013 Capstone Award Business Process Focus

Cabin Gas Plant Maintenance Structure & Workplace Leadership

Ross Markowski

Maintenance Supervisor