City Scape

CAMA Certification


Certifying Body

CAMA has been developed and is offered by the World Partners in Asset Management, a partnership of non-profit professional associations including the Asset Management Council (Australia), the Society of Maintenance and Reliability Professionals (USA), ABRAMAN (Brazil) and PEMAC (Canada).

About the Certification

Through ISO 17021-5, the International Standards Organization has recognized that individuals assessing or auditing organizations' Asset Management systems to ISO 5500x require background knowledge in Asset Management.

The goal of the Certified Asset Management Assessor certification process, therefore, is to help individuals who are interested in serving as asset management assessors to demonstrate they have the necessary asset management knowledge and experience, as well as knowledge of ISO 5500x, to serve as part of an ISO 5500x certification-of-organizations process. 

By extension CAMA certification of individuals will help organizations wishing to certify themselves to ISO 5500x to identify credible assessors and auditors. Note that the focus of the certification is subject area knowledge. Generic knowledge of ISO processes, assessment and auditing is not covered by this exam.

CAMA certification is granted upon successful completion of a 2 hour exam and demonstration of relevant experience (minumum 5 years). The exam has been designed to test for knowledge defined in the Global Forum on Maintenance and Asset Management (GFMAM) document, “GFMAM ISO 55001 Auditor/Assessor Specification“.

The Certified Asset Management Assessor (CAMA) Certification exam is currently available in English, Japanese and Portuguese and will soon to be available in Spanish and French.


World Partners in Asset Management (WPiAM) accepts applications from holders of the IAM Certificate for an administrative fee and evidence of sufficient experience to qualify for CAMA Certification. To apply for CAMA Certification based on IAM Certificate, Register on the WPiAM website and complete your online profile. There are Continuing Professional Development requirements for maintaining your CAMA Certification.

CAMA Preparation:

Experienced asset management practitioners are likely to be successful with a careful reading of the ISO 5500x series of documents which are available for purchase at

Be mindful that the standard is made up of a series of 3 documents and you may have to search for each: ISO 55000:2014, ISO 55001:2014, ISO 55002:2018.


PEMAC has developed a "Becoming a Certified Asset Management Assessor" course to help people who have relevant experience prepare for the exam.


Individuals who successfully complete Course 1 of the PEMAC Asset Management Professional Program and have 3-5 years of relevant experience will be well prepared to challenge the CAMA exam.

More information about CAMA is available on the World Partner’s site

CAMA Exam Registration